Link Insider

Email updates, contests and more... are you IN?

Celebrity Buzz Home


Some of the music's most iconic artists are coming together to release “Songs for the Philippines” to raise funds in the wake of Typhoon Haiyan.

According to the official iTunes description, the artists have “united by a message of hope and compassion,” and all proceeds from the 39-track album will benefit the Philippine Red Cross.

The record features a number of recent hits from a wide range of pop stars, including a remix of Katy Perry’s latest single “Unconditionally” and One Direction’s “Best Song Ever.”

Other contributions include: 

  • Bruno Mars, “Count on Me”
  • Beyonce, “I Was Here”
  • Adele, “Make You Feel My Love”
  • Lady Gaga, “Born This Way (The Country Road version)”
  • Pitbull featuring Christina Aguilera, “Feel This Moment”
  • Justin Bieber, “I Would”
  • Justin Timberlake, “Mirrors”
  • Imagine Dragons, “30 Lives”
  • Lorde, “The Love Club”
  • Kelly Clarkson, “Stronger”
  • Ellie Goulding, “I Know You Care”
  • P!nk, “Sober”
  • Lily Allen, “Smile”

The Beatles bookend the album with two of their most iconic songs, opening with a 2009 remaster of “Across the Universe” and closing fittingly with “Let It Be.”

Typhoon Haiyan hit the eastern coast of the Philippines on November 8. In less than three weeks, more than 5,000 lives have been claimed by the devastating typhoon, while over 23,000 people have been reported injured, according to CNN.

Check out the tracklist for the album on iTunes by clicking here and let us know what you think of the concept in the comments section.